Three Arkansas Properties Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, July 07, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Henley-Riley Houses and Rumph Mortuary at El Dorado in Union County and a Clay County commercial building have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Henley-Riley Houses at 2523 and 2525 Calion Road were built in 1959-61 and designed by noted Arkansas architect E. Fay Jones.

“The Henley-Riley Houses, through the attention to detail and elements of E. Fay Jones’ signature style, are an excellent example of Jones’ work in the mid twentieth-century,” according to the National Register nomination. “The organic elements common to Jones’ designs include low sloping rooflines, use of exterior and interior space and materials to create a sense of connectedness with the outside and a sense of open space. The district contains residences, two objects, and a pavilion designed by Jones.”

The Rumph Mortuary at 312 West Oak Street was built in 1927 and designed in the Gothic Revival style of architecture.

“The Rumph Mortuary exhibits several characteristics of the Gothic Revival style, and represents a rare commercial example of the style,” the National Register nomination says. “For example, the flat roof of the building is sheltered by a castellated parapet. The windows on the front of the building, and in the side chapel, exhibit the Gothic arch shape that was common to the style. In addition, the front entry also exhibits the Gothic arch, and the windows and entrance on the front façade are also highlighted by the cast-concrete detailing that approximates stone.”

The building at 401 Main Street in the Rector Commercial Historic District at Rector in Clay County, built in 1910 also was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

“In the original nomination for the Rector Commercial Historic District, the Building at 401 South Main Street was considered to be non-contributing to the district, due to the fact that the west and north façades were covered in vinyl siding,” according to the National Register nomination. “However, the building should now be considered to be a contributing resource. A recent project using Historic Preservation Restoration Grant funds through the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program renovated the property, which included removing the siding and restoring the building’s original north and west façades. As a result, the building is considered to be a contributing resource in the Rector Commercial Historic District.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Duck Hunting 13th Amendment Monroe County Courthouse most endangered historic places Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Madison County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas White County Courthouse Rustic Architecture Sunken Lands Craftsman style architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Newton County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Saline County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden Public Library Phillips County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Freedom Park Mid-Century Modern Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Booneville Arkansas Kiblah School Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Ozark Farming Arkansas History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Polk County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Sandwiching in History Tudor Revival Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Mississippi County Arkansas free history tours 19th Century Road Construction Erbie Arkansas American Legion Burdette Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Morrilton Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Historic Preservation Alliance Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Batesville Marked Tree Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Paris Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Three States Lumber Company Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Louisiana Main Street program 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Cemetery Preservation Library Freedmen's Bureau Real Estate Transfer Tax Rosenwald Schools Huntsville Commercial Historic District Bogg Springs Hotel Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Huntsville Arkansas slipcover removal grants Wingmead Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Searcy Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Houston Arkansas Camden to Washington Road County courthouse Restoration Grants Leake-Ingham Building Centennial Baptist Church Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Conway County Library Little Rock Central High School Dr. Ruth Hawkins News Release Free Courthouse Poster Buffalo National River downtown economic development historic Arkansas properties Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax U.S. Forest Service downtown revitalization Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Main Street Siloam Springs Miller County Downtown Revitalization Grants Camden Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Mississippi Main Street Association Trail of Tears in Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Poinsett County Arkansas Turner Restoration Main Street Ozark Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Folk Victorian Architecture Let Freedom Ring Montgomery County Courthouse St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas History Lesson Plans Walks Through History historic resort communities African American education U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Roe Arkansas free teacher resources International-Style Architecture Burdette Plantation Arkansas African American Civil War History cemetery preservation Fayetteville Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Elias Camp Morris Civilian Conservation Corps Naturalistic Architecture Helena Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Free Lesson Plan Forrest City Cemetery Barney Elias House Civil Works Administration Arkansas Business History historic telephone booth Evelyn Gill Walker House Edgar Monsanto Queeny Ouachita County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture cemetery preservsation historic architecture Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Nevada County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Design Network Rosston Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery National Historic Landmark Flood Control Pike County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Texarkana Skillern House National Register of Historic Arkansas religious history Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Dumas