Three Arkansas Properties Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, February 07, 2018

Three Arkansas properties have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The newly listed properties are:

* Sherman Mound and Village in Mississippi County, a ca. 1200 archeological site with components from the Prehistoric Late Woodland and Middle Mississippian periods. “Geophysics produced evidence for the presence of all the basic architectural design elements of a Mississippian town with a mound-and-plaza complex, including: a primary mound; two secondary mounds (B and C); one or two plazas; a palisade wall with bastions; and discrete residential or habitation areas characterized by multiple geophysical features and surface artifact concentrations,” according to the National Register nomination. “The most conspicuous remaining element of this Mississippian town is the Sherman Mound, which is one of the largest and best-preserved Middle Mississippian period earthworks in the Central Mississippi Valley.”

* Arkansas Teachers Association Headquarters Building and Professional Services Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County, Mid-Century Modern-style buildings completed in 1965 and designed by the architectural firm of George Henry Tschiemer & Associates of Pine Bluff. “The two buildings designed for the ATA and the medical corporation Professional Services, Inc., were contemporary in style, featuring the mid-century modern aesthetic of simple lines and un-ornamented facades,” according to the National Register nomination. “While the modern aesthetic was partially a result of the use of new and cost-efficient materials and building techniques; the modern styling of the structures was also a reflection of the forward thinking organizations that commissioned the buildings. The overall cost of the project was over $150,000, a huge sum, especially for an African-American financed and constructed project in downtown Little Rock only five years after the Little Rock Desegregation Crisis.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Tudor Revival Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society historic resort communities Sunken Lands American Legion Ouachita County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Rustic Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards White County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Newton County Arkansas Main Street Dumas National Historic Landmark Civilian Conservation Corps Destination Downtown Conference Real Estate Transfer Tax Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Huntsville Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas African American Civil War History Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Evelyn Gill Walker House downtown revitalization Camden Public Library 13th Amendment Pike County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Rosston Arkansas Flood Control Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans free history tours Main Street Siloam Springs Madison County Arkansas Wingmead Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Downtown Revitalization Grants Historic County Courthouses County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas religious history Marked Tree Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Main Street Ozark "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Freedmen's Bureau Camden Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas History most endangered historic places Tolbert Gill Saline County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture African American education Civil Works Administration Pike County Courthouse Phillips County Arkansas Ozark Farming Arkansas Design Network Little Rock Central High School Prairie County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Craftsman style architecture Folk Victorian Architecture cemetery preservation Three States Lumber Company Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Houston Arkansas National Register of Historic Dr. Ruth Hawkins Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Sandwiching in History Polk County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Montgomery County Courthouse St. Francis County Historical Society Let Freedom Ring Historic Preservation Alliance Pope County Courthouse Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Poinsett County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Russellville Arkansas Walks Through History Arkansas Railroad History Booneville Arkansas Roe Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Fayetteville Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Freedom Park downtown economic development Naturalistic Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Centennial Baptist Church Huntsville Commercial Historic District Bogg Springs Hotel Conway County Library Arkansas Humanities Council Rosenwald Schools Kiblah School historic Arkansas properties Mississippi Main Street Association U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Main Street Batesville Cemetery Preservation Library Leake-Ingham Building historic architecture Turner Restoration Burdette Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Abolition of Slavery Skillern House Burdette Plantation Benton Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Elias Camp Morris Paris Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops free teacher resources cemetery preservsation Duck Hunting News Release Monroe County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Buffalo National River Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Business History Arkansas Historic Preservation Barney Elias House Free Courthouse Poster Cumberland Presbyterian Church U.S. Forest Service slipcover removal grants Clarendon Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Helena Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic telephone booth Main Street Texarkana North Little Rock Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Mississippi County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Searcy Erbie Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Pope County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Camden to Washington Road Doddridge Arkansas Miller County