Two Arkansas Properties Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, February 11, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—The Barney L. Elias House at North Little Rock in Pulaski County and the Skillern House at Fayetteville in Washington County have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The Barney L. Elias House at 335 Goshen Avenue is a 1949 structure designed with a combination of the Art Deco and International styles of architecture.

“Built in 1949, this house pre-dates the explosion of modernist designs in Arkansas during the 1950s, inspired in part by the creation of the new Architecture Department at the University of Arkansas,” according to the National Register nomination. “This house was designed and built with new construction methods including the use of poured concrete and metal windows. The house completely disregards many of the more traditional residential forms and instead relies on large flat planes of brick to create a very modernist aesthetic, especially on the front façade.”

The Skillern House at 3470 East Skillern Road was built in 1904-05 and designed in the Folk Victorian style of architecture.

“The John Audley Skillern House was built in 1904-1905 as the residential center of an 800-acre farm in Washington County on the northeast corner of Fayetteville,” according to the National Register nomination. “The home is approximately 3,400 square feet and in the Folk Victorian Style with Queen Anne detailing. This wonderful example of a Folk Victorian home was built by John Audley Skillern, who was a noteworthy farmer and landowner in rural Washington County.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Paris Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Business History Huntsville Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel most endangered historic places Sunken Lands Craftsman style architecture Camden Public Library Forrest City Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Freedom Park Pike County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Polk County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Doddridge Arkansas Pike County Arkansas News Release Real Estate Transfer Tax Monroe County Arkansas Barney Elias House Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Pope County Courthouse 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Booneville Historical Preservation Society Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Batesville historic resort communities slipcover removal grants free history tours White County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Saline County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Humanities Council Henry Koen Office Building 13th Amendment Centennial Baptist Church Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission New Century Club of Camden Monsanto Chemical Corporation Sandwiching in History Benton Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Rustic Architecture National Register of Historic Places Arkansas History Burdette Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Phillips County Arkansas downtown revitalization steel window restoration workshop Erbie Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Abolition of Slavery Burdette Plantation cemetery preservation Morrilton Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Prairie County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Civil Works Administration Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery historic architecture African American education free teacher resources Cemetery Preservation Library Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Historic Preservation Program 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Walks Through History Buffalo National River Arkansas religious history Destination Downtown Conference Ouachita County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Clarendon Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Cumberland Presbyterian Church National Register of Historic Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas Register of Historic Places Monroe County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Design Network Poinsett County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Skillern House Mississippi County Arkansas Tolbert Gill U.S. Forest Service Naturalistic Architecture Helena Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Montgomery County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Let Freedom Ring Pulaski County Courthouse Art Deco Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Houston Arkansas Flood Control Duck Hunting Huntsville Commercial Historic District downtown economic development Edgar Monsanto Queeny Main Street Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Kiblah School North Little Rock Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Miller County Newton County Arkansas Conway County Library Main Street Searcy Main Street Ozark Civilian Conservation Corps Ozark Farming Turner Restoration Mid-Century Modern Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Free Courthouse Poster County courthouse Restoration Grants Historic County Courthouses Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Madison County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties U.S. Army Corps of Engineers historic telephone booth Rosenwald Schools Arkansas African American Civil War History Wingmead free historic preservation workshop Historic Preservation Alliance Little Rock Central High School Downtown Revitalization Grants National Historic Landmark Roe Arkansas Camden Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Leake-Ingham Building Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants cemetery preservsation Free Lesson Plan Louisiana Main Street program Main Street Dumas Arkansas Railroad History Pope County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse American Legion