Updated National Register Listings

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, October 08, 2019


The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) announces the addition of 10 new National Register of Historic Places sites. The register, administered by the National Park Service, is the country's official list of historically significant sites worthy of preservation. Eligible listings include historic districts, sites, buildings, structures and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering and culture.

“We are pleased to bring another collection of quality properties to the National Register of Historic Places,” said Stacy Hurst, who serves as the state historic preservation officer as well as the cabinet secretary for Parks, Heritage and Tourism. “Arkansas’s transportation history is compelling, so I’m especially pleased with the listings of the Point Remove Creek Bridge and the Magnolia Service Station. I encourage everyone to take a road trip and explore our amazing state. A great place to start is by searching the National Register listings on our website for locations near you.”National Register listings can be found by county here:

Properties added to the National Register of Historic Places include:

  • Community Mausoleum, Elmwood Cemetery
    1148 W. Church St.
    Conway County, Morrilton
  • Elmwood Cemetery Historic Section
    W. of AR 113 and W. Church St. intersection
    Conway County, Morrilton
  • Point Remove Creek Bridge
    Old Arkansas Highway 113 over Point Remove Creek
    Conway County, Morrilton
  • Army & Navy Memorial Lodge
    570 Jobs Corps Rd.
    Garland County, Royal
  • Bransford, J. M., House
    506 S. Center St.
    Lonoke County, Lonoke
  • Faubus, Orval E., House
    640 Governors Rd.
    Madison County, Huntsville
  • Grey, William H., Gravesite
    108 Wire St.
    Phillips County, Helena-West Helena
  • Magnolia Service Station
    3023 W. 7th St.
    Pulaski County, Little Rock
  • Waldron School Historic District
    403 and 429 W. 5th St.
    Scott County, Waldron
  • Tweedy-Puntch House
    1411 W. Emma Ave.
    Washington County, Springdale

“The Faubus House in Huntsville was a particularly enjoyable listing to share as it was designed by E. Fay Jones, a protégée of Frank Lloyd Wright,” explains Director of the AHPP Scott Kaufman. “Jones is highly regarded as the preeminent architect in Arkansas, designing the famed Thorncrown Chapel in Eureka Springs as well as many other buildings including homes, businesses, pavilions and more. His name lives on at the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design at the University of Arkansas.”

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP), the division of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism.



Recent Posts


Evelyn Gill Walker House historic resort communities Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Pope County Courthouse Saline County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Montgomery County Courthouse Leake-Ingham Building Civilian Conservation Corps Wingmead Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Humanities Council Buffalo National River Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Texarkana Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Dr. Ruth Hawkins Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Paris Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Poinsett County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Pike County Courthouse Folk Victorian Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Ozark Farming Newton County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pike County Arkansas Conway County Library Cemetery Preservation Library Pope County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Three States Lumber Company Monroe County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Business History Arkansas Railroad History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Perry County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Cumberland Presbyterian Church Erbie Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Flood Control Arkansas Historic Preservation Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Abolition of Slavery Arkansas African American Civil War History Turner Restoration Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Sandwiching in History Russellville Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture cemetery preservation Camden Public Library News Release Arkansas Design Network Walks Through History African American education Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Sunken Lands Main Street Arkansas free teacher resources Elias Camp Morris Pulaski County Courthouse Mid-Century Modern Architecture American Legion White County Courthouse 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Register of Historic Places Monroe County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Main Street Searcy Benton Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Prairie County Arkansas free history tours Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas State University Heritage Sites County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Siloam Springs Morrilton Arkansas International-Style Architecture Free Lesson Plan National Register of Historic Tudor Revival Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Barney Elias House Clarendon Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Huntsville Commercial Historic District New Century Club of Camden Renaissance Revival Architecture Louisiana Main Street program North Little Rock Arkansas National Historic Landmark Bogg Springs Hotel Forrest City Arkansas Miller County Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South slipcover removal grants 13th Amendment Polk County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference downtown revitalization Downtown Revitalization Grants Freedmen's Bureau Mississippi County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Delta Cultural Center steel window restoration workshop historic telephone booth Rustic Architecture Camden Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Trail of Tears in Arkansas historic architecture Kiblah School Skillern House St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas religious history Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas History Freedom Park Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Montgomery County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Arkansas History Lesson Plans Bogg Springs Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Civil Works Administration Roe Arkansas downtown economic development Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Historic County Courthouses Madison County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Duck Hunting Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Little Rock Central High School 19th Century Road Construction Houston Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Batesville Burdette Plantation Craftsman style architecture Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Helena Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Dumas Historic Preservation Alliance Free Courthouse Poster Marked Tree Lock and Siphons U.S. Forest Service cemetery preservsation Booneville Arkansas most endangered historic places