Walks Through History to Tour Arkansas Tech University

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 26, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Arkansas Tech University Campus in Russellville on June 10.

The tour will begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, June 10, at Caraway Hall at 1403 North Arkansas Avenue on the ATU campus. Built in 1934, the building of Caraway Hall heralded one of the most ambitious periods of construction on the Arkansas Tech campus. As was the case with many public sites and institutions around the state, the labor force was largely contributed by the Emergency Relief Administration, a federal agency established by President Franklin D. Roosevelt to hire the nation's unemployed to carry out a broad variety of projects in the public interest. Currently, Caraway Hall serves as sorority housing for all four of the sororities on the Arkansas Tech Campus. The tour is co-sponsored by Arkansas Tech University and the Pope County Historical Association.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be July 15, Downtown Searcy, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; August 12, Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs; September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


historic Arkansas properties Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Preservation Awards Fayetteville Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Mid-Century Modern Architecture Saline County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Art Deco Architecture Burdette Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans News Release Main Street Batesville historic resort communities Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Design Network Forrest City Cemetery Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Renaissance Revival Architecture Sandwiching in History Helena Arkansas Buffalo National River Three States Lumber Company Camden to Washington Road Civil Works Administration Clarendon Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Camden Public Library National Register of Historic Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Pulaski County Courthouse American Legion Booneville Historical Preservation Society Duck Hunting Montgomery County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Newton County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins National Register of Historic Places 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation historic telephone booth Mississippi County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas African American Civil War History Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic County Courthouses Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Courthouse Camden Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Turner Restoration St. Francis County Historical Society Rosenwald Schools Henry Koen Office Building Booneville Arkansas Houston Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 free history tours Monsanto Chemical Corporation free historic preservation workshop Madison County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Barney Elias House National Historic Landmark Let Freedom Ring Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Montgomery County Courthouse Skillern House free teacher resources Bogg Springs Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Elias Camp Morris slipcover removal grants Evelyn Gill Walker House Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Historic Preservation Forrest City Arkansas cemetery preservation Poinsett County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Pope County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance Abolition of Slavery Main Street Dumas Arkansas History Civilian Conservation Corps Main Street Texarkana Destination Downtown Conference Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Walks Through History Miller County Leake-Ingham Building Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Paris Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Erbie Arkansas downtown revitalization Free Lesson Plan Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Marked Tree Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Edgar Monsanto Queeny Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Sunken Lands historic architecture Cemetery Preservation Library "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants 13th Amendment Burdette Plantation Delta Cultural Center Flood Control most endangered historic places International-Style Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Polk County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas White County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction downtown economic development Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Railroad History Rosston Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Monroe County Arkansas Conway County Library Kiblah School Tolbert Gill Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Dionicio Rodriguez North Little Rock Arkansas Perry County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Monroe County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Searcy Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Business History Free Courthouse Poster Naturalistic Architecture Wingmead Rustic Architecture Roe Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Doddridge Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Freedom Park cemetery preservsation Nevada County Arkansas Ozark Farming Main Street Ozark Arkansas religious history African American education