'Walks Through History' to Tour Downtown Berryville

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 01, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown Berryville on May 16, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Named for early resident and town co-founder Blackburn Henderson Berry, Berryville became a trading and educational center for the area’s subsistence farmers. In 1875 the Carroll County seat was moved to Berryville. The 1880 courthouse, enlarged in 1905 to ensure Berryville’s position as county seat, faces the public square. The tour will begin at 11 a.m. at the Carroll County Courthouse, Eastern District, located on the west side of the public square in Berryville. The tour is co-sponsored by the Carroll County Historical Society.

In the “Walks Through History” program, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2015 “Walks Through History” tours will be held June 13, Marianna Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Marianna/Lee County Chamber of Commerce and The Gladlands; July 18, Downtown Malvern, co-sponsored by the Malvern Downtown Development Corporation, Hot Spring County Museum and Hot Spring County Historical Society; August 15, Downtown Bradford, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; September 12, Titan II ICBM Launch Complex 374-7 Site at Southside (Van Buren County), co-sponsored by the Van Buren County Historical Society; October 10, Cane Hill (Washington County), co-sponsored by Historic Cane Hill; November 14, Batesville Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Batesville and the Batesville Preservation Association; and December 12, Washington Street Historic District, Camden, co-sponsored by the Ouachita County Historical Society.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Miller County Civil Works Administration Pulaski County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction American Legion News Release County courthouse Restoration Grants Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Dionicio Rodriguez Houston Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Design Network historic telephone booth Burdette Plantation Montgomery County Courthouse Roe Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Kiblah School Pike County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Naturalistic Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Historic Preservation Let Freedom Ring Art Deco Architecture Helena Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Flood Control Freedmen's Bureau Camden Arkansas Barney Elias House Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Turner Restoration Bogg Springs Hotel Saline County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center North Little Rock Arkansas historic resort communities National Register of Historic slipcover removal grants free teacher resources Arkansas Historic Preservation Program U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas religious history Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Business History Mid-Century Modern Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Booneville Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut cemetery preservsation Free Lesson Plan Main Street Dumas Three States Lumber Company Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 13th Amendment Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Paris Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council steel window restoration workshop Civilian Conservation Corps Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Ozark Craftsman style architecture Gothic Revival architecture Little Rock Central High School Monroe County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Forrest City Cemetery free history tours Destination Downtown Conference downtown revitalization Historic Preservation Alliance Walks Through History Russellville Arkansas Conway County Library Phillips County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Fayetteville Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Mississippi County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins White County Courthouse Pike County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Sandwiching in History Montgomery County Arkansas Tolbert Gill U.S. Forest Service New Century Club of Camden Delta Cultural Center cemetery preservation Arkansas Preservation Awards Main Street Texarkana Huntsville Commercial Historic District Poinsett County Arkansas Buffalo National River Downtown Revitalization Grants Perry County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden Public Library International-Style Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Polk County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Skillern House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Benton Arkansas African American education Rosston Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Renaissance Revival Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Newton County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Duck Hunting Rustic Architecture Arkansas History Bogg Springs Arkansas downtown economic development free historic preservation workshop Main Street Batesville "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Henry Koen Office Building Evelyn Gill Walker House historic Arkansas properties Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Monroe County Arkansas historic architecture Ozark Farming Wingmead Mississippi Main Street Association Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Louisiana Main Street program Cumberland Presbyterian Church Freedom Park Marked Tree Arkansas most endangered historic places Forrest City Arkansas Sunken Lands Pope County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas Register of Historic Places Real Estate Transfer Tax National Historic Landmark