'Walks Through History' to Tour Downtown Jonesboro

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, February 24, 2017


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s first 2017 “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown Jonesboro on Saturday, March 11.

The tour will begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, March 11, at the Frierson House at 1112 South Main Street. The Frierson House is best known as the home of Governor Francis Cherry and First Lady Margaret Frierson Cherry in the years that Cherry served as chancery judge. Jonesboro contains other National Register-listed properties such as the Craighead County Courthouse, the C. A. Stuck and Sons Lumber Company Building, the Edward Westbrooke Building and the Mercantile Bank Building, which will be featured on the tour. The tour is co-sponsored by the Downtown Jonesboro Association.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be held April 15, Keo Commercial Historic District (Lonoke County); May 13, Downtown Hope Commercial District, co-sponsored by the Hope-Hempstead County Chamber of Commerce; June 9, Arkansas Tech University, co-sponsored by the Pope County Historical Society and Arkansas Tech University; July 15, Downtown Searcy, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; August 12, Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs; September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.


Recent Posts


Arkansas Business History County courthouse Restoration Grants African American education Ozark Farming Pike County Courthouse Walks Through History Main Street Searcy International-Style Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Clarendon Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Skillern House Art Deco Architecture Kiblah School Sandwiching in History Henry Koen Office Building Pope County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Civil Works Administration New Century Club of Camden Forrest City Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Abolition of Slavery Bogg Springs Hotel Leake-Ingham Building Montgomery County Courthouse historic telephone booth Newton County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Bogg Springs Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Phillips County Arkansas Flood Control Prairie County Arkansas free history tours Renaissance Revival Architecture Monroe County Arkansas Camden Public Library Civilian Conservation Corps Houston Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas religious history Buffalo National River Three States Lumber Company most endangered historic places Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Rustic Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Conway County Library Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission American Legion Pulaski County Courthouse Sunken Lands cemetery preservsation "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Huntsville Arkansas Freedom Park Barney Elias House Erbie Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Historic Preservation downtown revitalization Main Street Texarkana Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Tudor Revival Architecture Benton Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Trail of Tears in Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Turner Restoration Monsanto Chemical Corporation Polk County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Naturalistic Architecture Duck Hunting Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Gothic Revival architecture free teacher resources Folk Victorian Architecture Historic County Courthouses steel window restoration workshop 13th Amendment free historic preservation workshop Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas African American Civil War History Pike County Arkansas historic architecture Tolbert Gill Miller County Helena Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Main Street Batesville Mississippi Main Street Association Centennial Baptist Church Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Burdette Arkansas downtown economic development Wingmead Camden to Washington Road Main Street Ozark Main Street Dumas Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Siloam Springs Real Estate Transfer Tax Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas History Lesson Plans Dr. Ruth Hawkins Montgomery County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House slipcover removal grants Cemetery Preservation Library Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council National Historic Landmark 19th Century Road Construction Destination Downtown Conference Cumberland Presbyterian Church Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Downtown Revitalization Grants Let Freedom Ring Monroe County Courthouse White County Courthouse Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Railroad History Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Design Network Rosston Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Camden Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Edgar Monsanto Queeny Pope County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Morrilton Arkansas National Register of Historic cemetery preservation Roe Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Russellville Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Booneville Historical Preservation Society Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Mississippi County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Little Rock Central High School North Little Rock Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District News Release Paris Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas History historic resort communities Nevada County Arkansas