Walks Through History to Tour Downtown Siloam Springs

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, July 28, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District on August 12.

The district is roughly bounded by University Street, Broadway and Sager Creek, with a few buildings on adjacent streets outside this triangular area. The business district was developed mainly between about 1896, when the railroad arrived, and 1940, and contains a significant number of buildings dating to that period. It also includes Siloam Springs City Park, the location of the springs that gave the city its name. Notable buildings include the First National Bank building, a c. 1890 Romanesque Revival building, and the 1881 Lakeside Hotel, which is one of the city's oldest commercial buildings. The downtown area is filled with retail and antique shops, restaurants, apartment living, a museum and public art. The tour is co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Booneville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Destination Downtown Conference Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Rosston Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum downtown revitalization Booneville Historical Preservation Society Forrest City Cemetery steel window restoration workshop Historic Preservation Alliance Sunken Lands Russellville Arkansas Burdette Plantation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Turner Restoration Arkansas African American Civil War History Edgar Monsanto Queeny Morrilton Arkansas free teacher resources Little Rock Central High School cemetery preservation most endangered historic places Pulaski County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants downtown economic development Gothic Revival architecture Phillips County Arkansas historic telephone booth Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Cemetery Preservation Library Montgomery County Arkansas Barney Elias House Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Evelyn Gill Walker House Kiblah School free historic preservation workshop slipcover removal grants Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Buffalo National River Ozark Farming Fayetteville Arkansas Duck Hunting Walks Through History Abolition of Slavery Bogg Springs Hotel Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Roe Arkansas Main Street Dumas Pike County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Newton County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Nevada County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas History Lesson Plans Huntsville Commercial Historic District Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Preservation Awards Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Rustic Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse National Historic Landmark National Register of Historic Places 19th Century Road Construction Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas History Bogg Springs Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Skillern House Flood Control Free Courthouse Poster Conway County Library Free Lesson Plan Forrest City Arkansas New Century Club of Camden County courthouse Restoration Grants Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House free history tours cemetery preservsation Erbie Arkansas Paris Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Business History African American education Civil Works Administration Pope County Arkansas historic resort communities Three States Lumber Company Downtown Revitalization Grants Leake-Ingham Building Tudor Revival Architecture historic architecture U.S. Forest Service Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas 13th Amendment historic Arkansas properties Main Street Ozark Mosaic Templars Cultural Center 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas religious history Delta Cultural Center Polk County Arkansas Wingmead Miller County Real Estate Transfer Tax Houston Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Humanities Council National Register of Historic White County Courthouse Freedom Park Dr. Ruth Hawkins Camden Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Camden Public Library Monsanto Chemical Corporation Freedmen's Bureau Monroe County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Main Street Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Mid-Century Modern Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Madison County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association News Release Saline County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Rosenwald Schools Pike County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Trail of Tears in Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building American Legion Doddridge Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Batesville Benton Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Main Street Searcy Huntsville Arkansas Tolbert Gill Helena Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Folk Victorian Architecture St. Francis County Historical Society