'Walks Through History' to Tour Downtown West Memphis

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, March 27, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the West Memphis Commercial Historic District on April 11, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

West Memphis experienced significant growth after 1917, when the first automobile lanes opened on the Harahan Bridge across the Mississippi River, transforming Broadway Avenue into a U.S. highway. Most historic buildings along Broadway were constructed between 1930 and 1950, reflecting the town’s prominence in the auto era. The bus tour will depart from Magruder Hall at Mid-South Community College at 2000 W. Broadway Avenue at 1:30 p.m. (This is a later starting time than most “Walks Through History” tours because it is being held in conjunction with the Arkansas Historical Association’s annual conference.) The tour is co-sponsored by Main Street West Memphis.

In the “Walks Through History” program, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2015 “Walks Through History” tours will be held May 16, Downtown Berryville, co-sponsored by the Carroll County Historical Society; June 13, Marianna Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Marianna/Lee County Chamber of Commerce and The Gladlands; July 18, Downtown Malvern, co-sponsored by the Malvern Downtown Development Corporation, Hot Spring County Museum and Hot Spring County Historical Society; August 15, Downtown Bradford, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; September 12, Titan II ICBM Launch Complex 374-7 Site at Southside (Van Buren County), co-sponsored by the Van Buren County Historical Society; October 10, Cane Hill (Washington County), co-sponsored by Historic Cane Hill; November 14, Batesville Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Batesville and the Batesville Preservation Association; and December 12, Washington Street Historic District, Camden, co-sponsored by the Ouachita County Historical Society.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Design Network Barney Elias House White County Courthouse Skillern House Henry Koen Office Building Downtown Revitalization Grants Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Monroe County Courthouse Rustic Architecture downtown revitalization Huntsville Commercial Historic District downtown economic development Mississippi Main Street Association Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Historic Preservation Delta Cultural Center Polk County Arkansas Arkansas History Poinsett County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History historic telephone booth Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot most endangered historic places Historic Preservation Restoration Grants New Century Club of Camden Camden Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Dionicio Rodriguez Freedmen's Bureau Little Rock Central High School Cemetery Preservation Library Bogg Springs Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Evelyn Gill Walker House Madison County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Buffalo National River Craftsman style architecture Paris Arkansas Main Street Searcy Arkansas religious history Freedom Park Main Street Arkansas Miller County Flood Control Sandwiching in History Kiblah School Arkansas Business History Huntsville Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Civilian Conservation Corps Forrest City Cemetery Doddridge Arkansas Houston Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mid-Century Modern Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Arkansas History Lesson Plans National Register of Historic Places Walks Through History historic architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Monsanto Chemical Corporation International-Style Architecture Main Street Dumas Perry County Arkansas Main Street Ozark St. Francis County Historical Society Leake-Ingham Building County courthouse Restoration Grants Cumberland Presbyterian Church Historic County Courthouses U.S. Forest Service cemetery preservation National Register of Historic Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Abolition of Slavery American Legion Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Montgomery County Courthouse Russellville Arkansas News Release Historic Preservation Alliance Renaissance Revival Architecture Burdette Plantation Arkansas African American Civil War History slipcover removal grants North Little Rock Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Wingmead Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Benton Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Humanities Council Gothic Revival architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Rosston Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Booneville Historical Preservation Society free teacher resources Pulaski County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Texarkana Turner Restoration Phillips County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Camden to Washington Road Rosenwald Schools Main Street Siloam Springs 19th Century Road Construction Conway County Library Elias Camp Morris Ozark Farming Clarendon Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Civil Works Administration African American education Prairie County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic resort communities National Historic Landmark Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Marked Tree Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Arkansas State University Heritage Sites 13th Amendment free historic preservation workshop Edgar Monsanto Queeny cemetery preservsation Louisiana Main Street program Pope County Courthouse Newton County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Camden Public Library Let Freedom Ring Helena Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Tolbert Gill Sunken Lands Ouachita County Arkansas free history tours historic Arkansas properties Duck Hunting Booneville Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Forrest City Arkansas