Walks Through History to Visit Downtown Dumas

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, October 27, 2017

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Dumas Commercial Historic District beginning at 11 a.m. on Saturday, November 11.

Dumas was established in 1904, after the St. Louis, Iron Mountain and Southern Railway was built through the farm of William Dumas. The town's oldest surviving commercial building, the Porter Grocery, was one of several built by David Porter between 1905 and 1938. The historic district includes eight noteworthy buildings, including the Merchants and Farmers Bank building, a Colonial Revival National Register-listed building designed by Charles L. Thompson. All of the buildings occupy a single city block of South Main Street, between Choctaw and Waterman Streets. Most of the buildings of interest were built in the 1920s, and are vernacular brick commercial buildings. The tour begins at the Merchant and Farmer’s Bank Building at Waterman and Main streets and is co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

The final 2017 “Walks Through History” tour will be December 9 at the El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit

The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present – that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


News Release historic telephone booth Trail of Tears in Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Historic Preservation Alliance Freedom Park Downtown Revitalization Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola historic resort communities Rosston Arkansas most endangered historic places Civilian Conservation Corps Morrilton Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Forrest City Cemetery Mississippi County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Benton Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Freedmen's Bureau Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South National Register of Historic Paris Arkansas Duck Hunting Louisiana Main Street program Folk Victorian Architecture Buffalo National River Free Courthouse Poster Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Searcy Phillips County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Mississippi Main Street Association Flood Control Arkansas religious history Camden Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Barney Elias House Conway County Library St. Francis County Historical Society Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Polk County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Pope County Courthouse Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Rustic Architecture African American education Montgomery County Arkansas Wingmead County courthouse Restoration Grants free historic preservation workshop Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Nevada County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Houston Arkansas Turner Restoration Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas History Renaissance Revival Architecture Ozark Farming Mid-Century Modern Architecture Civil Works Administration National Historic Landmark Rosenwald Schools Historic County Courthouses Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Dumas slipcover removal grants Monroe County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Erbie Arkansas Burdette Arkansas downtown revitalization Evelyn Gill Walker House historic architecture Main Street Ozark Let Freedom Ring Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Edgar Monsanto Queeny Bogg Springs Hotel International-Style Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Business History Arkansas Design Network historic Arkansas properties Poinsett County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas American Legion Monroe County Courthouse White County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Texarkana Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Walks Through History Gothic Revival architecture U.S. Forest Service Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Railroad History Pike County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Cumberland Presbyterian Church Roe Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Sunken Lands Little Rock Central High School North Little Rock Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Miller County Centennial Baptist Church downtown economic development Huntsville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Perry County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas cemetery preservation Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Dr. Ruth Hawkins Naturalistic Architecture Russellville Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs 13th Amendment Saline County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Humanities Council cemetery preservsation Sandwiching in History Marked Tree Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Leake-Ingham Building Tolbert Gill Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Main Street Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Camden Public Library free teacher resources Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Pope County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Kiblah School Skillern House Pike County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center New Century Club of Camden Burdette Plantation Newton County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Elias Camp Morris Dionicio Rodriguez Art Deco Architecture Helena Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Clarendon Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Henry Koen Office Building free history tours