Walks Through History to Visit Downtown Hope

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, April 28, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Hope Commercial Historic District on May 13.

The tour will begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, May 13, at Hope City Hall at 206 West Avenue A. The district takes in a two-block area of downtown Hope. The area consists for the most part of commercial brick buildings one or two stories in height, with relatively plain styling. Most of these were built between 1880 and 1945, the major period of Hope's development. The most architecturally significant buildings in the district are the Brundidge Building, an 1893 Romanesque Revival structure, and the Renaissance Revival former post office building (built in 1911 and now owned by the Hope School District). The tour is co-sponsored by the Hope-Hempstead County Chamber of Commerce.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be June 10, Arkansas Tech University, co-sponsored by the Pope County Historical Society and Arkansas Tech University; July 15, Downtown Searcy, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; August 12, Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs; September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Benton Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Main Street Siloam Springs Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Huntsville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Saline County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Gothic Revival architecture Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Humanities Council Camden to Washington Road Clarendon Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Register of Historic Places Craftsman style architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons downtown economic development Nevada County Arkansas slipcover removal grants County courthouse Restoration Grants Central High School Neighborhood Historic District African American education Monsanto Chemical Corporation Civil Works Administration Pike County Courthouse downtown revitalization Pope County Courthouse Monroe County Courthouse Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut free teacher resources Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas African American Civil War History Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Trail of Tears in Arkansas Paris Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola National Register of Historic Places Doddridge Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Elias Camp Morris Erbie Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Cumberland Presbyterian Church White County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop Flood Control Pike County Arkansas Main Street Batesville "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Bogg Springs Arkansas Conway County Library Marked Tree Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Monroe County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum historic resort communities Renaissance Revival Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Tolbert Gill Centennial Baptist Church 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Historic Preservation Poinsett County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Art Deco Architecture Free Courthouse Poster Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops St. Francis County Historical Society Evelyn Gill Walker House News Release Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South cemetery preservation Turner Restoration Skillern House Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Business History Miller County Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Louisiana Main Street program Cemetery Preservation Library Montgomery County Courthouse cemetery preservsation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers most endangered historic places Main Street Ozark Main Street Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Pope County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas National Historic Landmark Houston Arkansas Walks Through History Burdette Plantation free history tours Rustic Architecture historic telephone booth Polk County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Sunken Lands Downtown Revitalization Grants Madison County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District International-Style Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Abolition of Slavery Folk Victorian Architecture Leake-Ingham Building historic architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Newton County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Main Street Dumas North Little Rock Arkansas Camden Public Library Booneville Historical Preservation Society Destination Downtown Conference New Century Club of Camden National Register of Historic Three States Lumber Company Main Street Searcy Barney Elias House Prairie County Arkansas Sandwiching in History 13th Amendment Buffalo National River Free Lesson Plan Mid-Century Modern Architecture Henry Koen Office Building Dionicio Rodriguez Let Freedom Ring Huntsville Commercial Historic District Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Montgomery County Arkansas Kiblah School Freedom Park Roe Arkansas Wingmead historic Arkansas properties U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Preservation Awards Duck Hunting Forrest City Cemetery Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Texarkana Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Historic County Courthouses American Legion Ozark Farming