Walks Through History to Visit Downtown Osceola

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, August 30, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown Osceola beginning at 11 a.m. on Saturday, September 15.

Osceola’s commercial downtown area, which includes the Hale Avenue Historic District and six buildings listed on the National Register of Historic Places, contains examples of several architectural styles that reflect the great prosperity this Delta town experienced in the early twentieth century. The tour will begin at Mississippi County Courthouse. It is co-sponsored by the Mississippi County Historical Society and Mississippi County Museum and the Arkansas Humanities Council.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays.

The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2018 “Walks Through History” tours will be held October 13, Heber Springs Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Heber Springs Library and Downtown Heber Springs Network, and November 10, Magnolia Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Magnolia-Columbia County Chamber of Commerce.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit The “Walks Through History” program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Marked Tree Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Folk Victorian Architecture Three States Lumber Company Erbie Arkansas Wingmead Sandwiching in History Ouachita County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Naturalistic Architecture Camden Public Library White County Courthouse Conway County Library Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Design Network Morrilton Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Renaissance Revival Architecture Roe Arkansas Paris Arkansas Benton Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas History Art Deco Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation downtown economic development Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Trail of Tears in Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Civil Works Administration free historic preservation workshop Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Leake-Ingham Building New Century Club of Camden Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Mid-Century Modern Architecture Burdette Arkansas Walks Through History Evelyn Gill Walker House Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Henry Koen Office Building cemetery preservsation Arkansas Register of Historic Places Pulaski County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops American Legion Huntsville Commercial Historic District Gothic Revival architecture Miller County Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Humanities Council downtown revitalization Arkansas Business History Pike County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Main Street Ozark Free Courthouse Poster Helena Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Monroe County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Houston Arkansas Main Street Searcy Delta Cultural Center National Register of Historic Places most endangered historic places Tolbert Gill Dr. Ruth Hawkins Montgomery County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Flood Control historic Arkansas properties U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Polk County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Ozark Farming Dionicio Rodriguez Camden to Washington Road Pike County Courthouse National Register of Historic steel window restoration workshop Tudor Revival Architecture historic architecture cemetery preservation 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas religious history Madison County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Montgomery County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program Camden Arkansas free teacher resources Civilian Conservation Corps free history tours Burdette Plantation historic telephone booth Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Fayetteville Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Dumas Barney Elias House Edgar Monsanto Queeny Doddridge Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Turner Restoration Historic County Courthouses Centennial Baptist Church News Release Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Kiblah School Russellville Arkansas Duck Hunting Rosenwald Schools Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Freedmen's Bureau Perry County Arkansas Buffalo National River Historic Preservation Alliance Monroe County Courthouse Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Real Estate Transfer Tax Pope County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas historic resort communities Rosston Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Rustic Architecture Free Lesson Plan Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot 13th Amendment Clarendon Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum African American education Historic Preservation Restoration Grants 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Main Street Batesville Arkansas Preservation Awards Freedom Park Sunken Lands North Little Rock Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Railroad History slipcover removal grants Skillern House National Historic Landmark Booneville Historical Preservation Society Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Destination Downtown Conference