Walks Through History to Visit Downtown Searcy

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, June 30, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown Searcy on July 15.

The tour will begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, July 15, at the White County Courthouse at 300 North Spruce Street. The White County Courthouse was built in 1871 is said to be the oldest functioning courthouse in Arkansas. A statue located on the southeast corner of the court square honors Confederate soldiers and a new granite monument was recently constructed on the courthouse lawn honoring White County soldiers who died in World War I, World War II, and the Korean War. A Vietnam War memorial also sits on the courthouse grounds. A fire in the courthouse some years ago necessitated extensive repair, and the courtroom was restored to its original 19th century look with hardwood flooring and oak benches. The tour is co-sponsored by Main Street Searcy and the White County Historical Association.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be August 12, Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs; September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Rustic Architecture Burdette Plantation Abolition of Slavery Leake-Ingham Building Monroe County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Erbie Arkansas Little Rock Central High School steel window restoration workshop Edgar Monsanto Queeny Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Poinsett County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Houston Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic County Courthouses Forrest City Arkansas cemetery preservsation Camden Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Freedom Park Pike County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center free history tours 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas religious history Main Street Ozark Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Doddridge Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Pulaski County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program Henry Koen Office Building Morrilton Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Prairie County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Bogg Springs Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez U.S. Forest Service Flood Control Roe Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Fayetteville Arkansas Kiblah School Ozark Farming Arkansas Design Network Paris Arkansas historic resort communities downtown revitalization Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Camden to Washington Road White County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Buffalo National River Marked Tree Arkansas Barney Elias House Arkansas Humanities Council Historic Preservation Alliance 13th Amendment Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Walks Through History Arkansas Historic Preservation Benton Arkansas Miller County Rosenwald Schools Elias Camp Morris Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Art Deco Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 free teacher resources African American education International-Style Architecture Pope County Courthouse North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Batesville Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Monroe County Courthouse Wingmead Arkansas History Duck Hunting County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Searcy Montgomery County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Renaissance Revival Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers downtown economic development Craftsman style architecture Naturalistic Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Bogg Springs Hotel National Historic Landmark Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery National Register of Historic Places Let Freedom Ring Camden Public Library slipcover removal grants "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Conway County Library 19th Century Road Construction Trail of Tears in Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Arkansas Helena Arkansas historic telephone booth Evelyn Gill Walker House Centennial Baptist Church Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Tolbert Gill New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Program cemetery preservation Mississippi Main Street Association Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places Folk Victorian Architecture Madison County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Arkansas African American Civil War History Skillern House St. Francis County Historical Society Gothic Revival architecture Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Free Lesson Plan Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Siloam Springs Sunken Lands Main Street Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Saline County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Cumberland Presbyterian Church Booneville Historical Preservation Society Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Civil Works Administration free historic preservation workshop Rosston Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Three States Lumber Company National Register of Historic Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Dr. Ruth Hawkins News Release Turner Restoration Monsanto Chemical Corporation Civilian Conservation Corps Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Burdette Arkansas most endangered historic places American Legion historic architecture