Walks Through History to Visit Keo Historic District

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, March 31, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Keo Commercial Historic District on April 15.

The tour will begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, April 15, at the Cobb Gin Complex at Main and Fleming streets in Keo. The area of Keo was known by three historic names – Cobbs, Lafayette Township, and Dunham Station – until it eventually morphed into one when the railroad began to exert its influence. The commerce of Keo was driven by cotton, and two cotton gin complexes anchored the boundaries of Main Street. The Morris Cotton Gin on the north was built circa 1940 and consists of the gin, two seed houses, and a scale house. The Cobb Cotton Gin complex to the south contains twenty-two structures dating from the turn of the century to the 1950s. This complex includes a tenant house, commissary, water tank, and fire hose house, among other industrial structures.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be May 13, Downtown Hope Commercial District, co-sponsored by the Hope-Hempstead County Chamber of Commerce; June 9, Arkansas Tech University, co-sponsored by the Pope County Historical Society and Arkansas Tech University; July 15, Downtown Searcy, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; August 12, Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs; September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Tudor Revival Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Perry County Arkansas free history tours Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Burdette Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Real Estate Transfer Tax Paris Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax African American education Cemetery Preservation Library American Legion Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Business History downtown revitalization Sunken Lands Dionicio Rodriguez Phillips County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Historic Preservation Alliance Booneville Historical Preservation Society Folk Victorian Architecture Abolition of Slavery Camden Public Library Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Bogg Springs Arkansas White County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Batesville Free Lesson Plan 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Camden to Washington Road Let Freedom Ring Clarendon Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Camden Arkansas Rustic Architecture Saline County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Searcy historic resort communities Poinsett County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Miller County Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas African American Civil War History Monroe County Courthouse Roe Arkansas Main Street Ozark Free Courthouse Poster Benton Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Freedom Park Conway County Library St. Francis County Historical Society Mississippi County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Forrest City Cemetery Bogg Springs Hotel Louisiana Main Street program Dr. Ruth Hawkins 13th Amendment Arkansas religious history Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Russellville Arkansas Helena Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Monroe County Arkansas Skillern House Arkansas History Tolbert Gill U.S. Forest Service Henry Koen Office Building Downtown Revitalization Grants downtown economic development Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Houston Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Huntsville Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Rosston Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas History Lesson Plans Turner Restoration Pike County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Historic Preservation Fayetteville Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Rosenwald Schools County courthouse Restoration Grants Ozark Farming Newton County Arkansas most endangered historic places free historic preservation workshop Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic County Courthouses Flood Control Kiblah School "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Renaissance Revival Architecture International-Style Architecture cemetery preservsation slipcover removal grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Destination Downtown Conference Duck Hunting Centennial Baptist Church Art Deco Architecture Pike County Courthouse Pulaski County Courthouse Elias Camp Morris historic telephone booth steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Register of Historic Places Civilian Conservation Corps Montgomery County Courthouse Main Street Dumas Arkansas Preservation Awards Sandwiching in History National Register of Historic Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council News Release Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic architecture Little Rock Central High School Main Street Texarkana Morrilton Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Pope County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Buffalo National River 19th Century Road Construction Marked Tree Lock and Siphons free teacher resources cemetery preservation National Historic Landmark Walks Through History Pope County Courthouse Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Prairie County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Delta Cultural Center Marked Tree Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Barney Elias House historic Arkansas properties Mid-Century Modern Architecture Doddridge Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Wingmead Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Leake-Ingham Building Booneville Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny