Walks Through History’ Tour Will Visit Downtown Benton

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, March 06, 2015


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s first “Walks Through History” tour of 2015 will visit the Benton Commercial Historic District on March 21, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Anchored by the 1902 Charles Thompson-designed Saline County Courthouse, the district includes commercial-style buildings constructed during the early twentieth century, when Benton prospered due to the county’s abundance of natural resources like timber, clay and bauxite. The tour will begin at 11 a.m. at the Saline County Courthouse at 200 North Main Street. It is co-sponsored by the Saline County Library and the Saline County History and Heritage Society.

In the “Walks Through History” program, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2015 “Walks Through History” tours will be held April 11, West Memphis Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street West Memphis; May 16, Downtown Berryville, co-sponsored by the Carroll County Historical Society; June 13, Marianna Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Marianna/Lee County Chamber of Commerce and The Gladlands; July 18, Downtown Malvern, co-sponsored by the Malvern Downtown Development Corporation, Hot Spring County Museum and Hot Spring County Historical Society; August 15, Downtown Bradford, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; September 12, Titan II ICBM Launch Complex 374-7 Site at Southside (Van Buren County), co-sponsored by the Van Buren County Historical Society; October 10, Cane Hill (Washington County), co-sponsored by Historic Cane Hill; November 14, Batesville Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Batesville and the Batesville Preservation Association; and December 12, Washington Street Historic District, Camden, co-sponsored by the Ouachita County Historical Society.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Main Street Batesville Conway County Library Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Nevada County Arkansas Houston Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Freedmen's Bureau free history tours Mosaic Templars Cultural Center 13th Amendment Main Street Texarkana slipcover removal grants Marked Tree Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Little Rock Central High School Main Street Dumas Kiblah School Arkansas African American Civil War History Polk County Arkansas Flood Control U.S. Army Corps of Engineers downtown economic development Rosenwald Schools Booneville Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Skillern House Dionicio Rodriguez Free Lesson Plan Real Estate Transfer Tax Perry County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Sunken Lands Trail of Tears in Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Rustic Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Pope County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Prairie County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Humanities Council Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Madison County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Buffalo National River Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Design Network Helena Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Arkansas religious history Gothic Revival architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South free historic preservation workshop Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Mississippi County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Newton County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas cemetery preservsation Mississippi Main Street Association Paris Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants steel window restoration workshop Downtown Revitalization Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Roe Arkansas Walks Through History downtown revitalization Phillips County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Delta Cultural Center Barney Elias House Historic County Courthouses Edgar Monsanto Queeny Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Business History Erbie Arkansas Freedom Park Louisiana Main Street program Turner Restoration cemetery preservation Booneville Historical Preservation Society Wingmead National Register of Historic Places Forrest City Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Monroe County Courthouse Mid-Century Modern Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Burdette Arkansas Civil Works Administration Arkansas History Lesson Plans Dr. Ruth Hawkins Camden Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District North Little Rock Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Cemetery Preservation Library Burdette Plantation News Release Folk Victorian Architecture Tolbert Gill Huntsville Commercial Historic District Benton Arkansas historic resort communities Poinsett County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Main Street Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Abolition of Slavery Doddridge Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Pope County Courthouse historic architecture Main Street Searcy historic telephone booth Main Street Ozark Pike County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Art Deco Architecture Saline County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery National Register of Historic Henry Koen Office Building Evelyn Gill Walker House Centennial Baptist Church historic Arkansas properties Miller County Montgomery County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places American Legion most endangered historic places Sandwiching in History Ozark Farming Arkansas Railroad History Let Freedom Ring Camden Public Library African American education free teacher resources Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Clarendon Arkansas National Historic Landmark Fayetteville Arkansas Duck Hunting Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Renaissance Revival Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Naturalistic Architecture White County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants 19th Century Road Construction Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Preservation Awards